Share this show

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email
Furlan Auditorium Production


The story follows John P. Wintergreen’s campaign for President until his triumphant election on the slogan “Put Love In The White House.” As the chairman explains. “What you need for an issue is something that everybody can get excited about and yet something that does not really make any difference.” It is decided the candidate shall marry the winner of a beauty contest after proposing to her in every state. Wintergreen, however, falls in love with pretty and demure Mary Turner instead. Interwoven are the comic adventures of Alexander Throttlebottom, the new Vice President seeking recognition. Political and legal complications add to the merriment of the finale where the graybeards of the Supreme Court dance and sing their way through important decisions to one of the most absurd and delightful climaxes seen on Broadway. Revived at the Brooklyn Academy of Music.

(In Alphabetical Order)

Senator Candace Jones – Nadine Borngraeber

Alexander Throttlebottom – Ed Carroll

Emily Benson – Amanda Collis

French Ambassador – Glen Fink

Justice/Senator/Ensemble – Barbara Grabowski

Diana Devereaux – Taryn Heller

Contestant/Senator/Ensemble – Jill Hollander

Mary Turner – Karla Hughes

Justice/Police/Reporter/Senator/Ensemble – Steve Jasso

Sam Jenkins – Danny Katz

Justice/Reporter/Senator/Ensemble – Ed Klosowski

Clerk/Justice/Photographer/Waiter/Ensemble – Matthew Koester

Contestant/Senator/Ensemble – Sarah Kordsmeier

Matthew Fulton – Bruce Lynch

John Wintergreen – ┬áEric Madson

Louise Lippman – Stacy Madson

Guide/Justice/Senator/Ensemble – Bonnie Marquardt

Contestant/Senator/Ensemble – Natasha Mortazavi

Justice/Senator/Ensemble – Trish O’Brien

Francis Gilhooley – David O’Day

Contestant/Justice/Scrubwoman/Senator/Ensemble – Jolita Rappa

Justice/Photographer/Police/Senator/Ensemble – Shawn Roberts

Senator Robert E. Lyons – Gene Schuldt

Chief Justice/Contestant/Senator/Ensemble – Mary Beth Tell

Chambermaid/Contestant/Doctor/Senator/Ensemble – Emily Wacker


* * *


Director/Choreographer – John Cramer

Set Designer/Technical Director – J. Michael Desper

Lighting Designer – Marty Wallner

Music Director – Sue Stanley

Music Sequence – Donna Kummer

Assistant Director – Sarah Koehler

Prop Coordinator – Amy Peter

Costume Coordinators – Pat Boeck, Betty Nordengren, & Ruth Schmidt

Sound Designer – Jan Pritzl

Stage Managers – Laura Beth Marek, Jan Szczepanski, & Jenny Walkowiak


Sign up for our newsletter and be the first to hear about shows, events, and ticket deals.